Health Scrutiny Committee

Meeting to be held on Tuesday, 3 July 2018

Electoral Division affected: None:

Constitution: Membership; Chair and Deputy Chair; and Terms of Reference of the Health Scrutiny Committee and its Steering Group

(Appendix A refers)

Contact for further information:

Gary Halsall, Tel: (01772) 536989, Senior Democratic Services Officer (Overview and Scrutiny), gary.halsall@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary

This report sets out the constitution, membership, chair and deputy chair and terms of reference (remit) of the Health Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2018/19.

Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note:

- The appointment of County Councillors Peter Britcliffe and Stuart Morris as i. Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2018/19 municipal year;
- The new Membership of the Committee following the County Council's ii. Annual Meeting on 24 May 2018; and
- iii. The Terms of Reference of the Committee.

Background and Advice

i) **Constitution and Membership of the Health Scrutiny Committee**

The Full Council, at its meeting on 24 May 2018, agreed that the Health Scrutiny Committee shall comprise 12 County Councillors (on the basis of 7 Conservative, 4 Labour and1 from either the Liberal Democrat or Independent groups) and 12 nonvoting co-opted members, with each District Council being invited to nominate a representative.

It was also agreed that County Councillor nominations to serve on the Committee should be submitted to the Director of Corporate Services by the respective Political Groups. Accordingly, the membership of the Committee, as confirmed by the



Political Group Secretaries and the 11 out of the 12 Lancashire District Councils, is as follows:

County Councillors (12):

P BritcliffeH KhanJ BurrowsS MorrisG DowdingM PattisonC EdwardsE PopeN HennessyP SteenS HolgateC Towneley

Non-voting co-opted members (12):

Burnley Borough Council Chorley Council Fylde Borough Council Hyndburn Borough Council Lancaster City Council Pendle Borough Council Preston City Council Ribble Valley Borough Council Rossendale Borough Council South Ribble Borough Council		Councillor Margaret Brindle To be confirmed Councillor Viv Willder Councillor Glen Harrison Councillor Colin Hartley Councillor Wayne Blackburn Councillor Peter Moss Councillor Bridget Hilton Councillor Barbara Ashworth Councillor Matthew Tomlinson
South Ribble Borough Council	-	Councillor Matthew Tomlinson
West Lancashire Borough Council Wyre Borough Council	-	Councillor Gail Hodson Councillor Julie Robinson

The Full Council also appointed County Councillors Peter Britcliffe and Stuart Morris as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2018/19 municipal year.

ii) Health Scrutiny Steering Group

The Steering Group is made up of the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Health Scrutiny Committee plus two additional members, one each nominated by the Conservative and Labour Groups as follows:

County Councillors (4):

P Britcliffe	J Burrows
S Holgate	S Morris

The Committee's terms of reference (remit) are set out at appendix A.

Consultations

N/A

Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

Risk management

There are no risk management implications arising from this item.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper

Date

Contact/Tel

N/A

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate

N/A